kd3DC Skyline-2.png

A learning and sharing community for
DC-area children’s literature professionals since 1945




Leah Henderson

October 20, 2022

7:00 pm

Zoom Program

The next Children’s Book Guild Speaker Series program will be held via Zoom on Thursday, October 20, at 7 p.m. EST.  Our speaker will be Leah Henderson, author of the marvelous middle grade novels The Magic in Changing Your Stars (an SCBWI Golden Kite Award finalist) and One Shadow on the Wall (a Children’s Africana Book Award Notable and a Bank Street Best Book).  Leah’s beautiful and moving picture books include Daddy Speaks Love, Together We March (an SCBWI Golden Kite Award finalist), A Day for Rememberin’, and the forthcoming Your Voice, Your Vote.  Her short stories are included in Black Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America, and the forthcoming anthologies Calling the Moon and Out of Our League.


Leah holds an MFA in Writing and is on faculty in Spalding University’s graduate writing program.  An avid traveler, Leah has explored more than 60 countries.  Born in Richmond, Virginia, Leah grew up in Andover, Massachusetts and now calls Washington, D.C. home.


You can find Leah on Twitter @LeahsMark or at her website: leahhendersonbooks.com.


Please note that this is one of our evening virtual meetings—starting time is 7 pm—which we hope will enable many Guild members and their guests to join us.



winner of the

The Children's Book Guild

2022 Nonfiction Award 

“Kids require more critical thinking skills than ever” - Read More

2022 Children’s Book Guild

Youth Literacy Awards

For the last eight years, the Children’s Book Guild has awarded grants to schools to purchase books for their libraries, media centers, or classrooms.


In 2022, we chose four schools: Simon Elementary and Truesdell Elementary in Washington, D.C., Springhill Lake Elementary in Greenbelt, and St. Francis International School in Silver Spring. Learn more…

Eboni Henry (Truesdell Elementary, D.C.), Carolyn Johnson (St. Francis International School, Silver Spring), Nikita Campbell (Simon Elementary, D.C.)

Kem Sawyer with books.jpg

Youth Literacy Award chair Kem Sawyer with books for Afghan refugee children



Recent Books by Children’s Book Guild Authors and Illustrators

small people.png



The Children’s Book Guild of Washington, DC, is committed to the fight for racial justice and support for Black lives. Please click on the links above for information on organizations to support, and readings to help educate and inspire positive change.