top of page

2006 Winner


Sneed B. Collard III

2006 Children’s Book Guild

Nonfiction Award Winner

Sneed B. Collard III was named the winner of the 2006 Washington Post/ Children's Book Guild of Washington, DC Nonfiction Award. The author of more than 30 outstanding nonfiction books for young people and a resident of Missoula, Montana, Collard's first book, Sea Snakes, was published in 1993 by Boyds Mill/Bell. Since then, he has continued to write consistently high quality science and science adventure books, all of them beautifully illustrated or photographed.

His most recent books, One Night in the Coral Sea (Charlesbridge, 2005), and The Prairie Builders: Reconstructing America's Lost Grasslands (Houghton Mifflin, 2005), show his keen interest in preserving the wonders of nature. The Prairie Builders has just won a prestigious new award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The AAAS/Subaru SB&F (Science Books and Films) Prize for Excellence in Science Books celebrates outstanding science writing and illustration for children and young adults. He has also received acclaim for his books from the National Science Teachers Association, Bank Street College of Education and the International Reading Association, among others. From Beaks! to Butterfly Count to Animal Dads he has covered critical issues of ecology, habitats and animal behavior with insight and humor, appealing to both early and middle grade readers.

The Washington Post/Children's Book Guild Award is presented annually to "an author or illustrator whose total body of work has contributed significantly to the quality of nonfiction for children." The winner is selected by a committee of the Children's Book Guild of Washington, D.C., a professional organization of authors, illustrators and children's literature specialists. The 2005 winner was author Caroline Arnold.

Sneed B. Collard III received the award at the award luncheon on Saturday, November 4, 2006.

bottom of page